The New Empathy

In conversations with new acquaintances, Paul Ford asks plenty of questions and lets the other people do the talking. He tries not to ask what they do for a living, but if it comes to that, he responds with “Wow. That sounds hard.”

If anyone wants to come over, we’re here. If not, reach out. I can use all the support I can get. I’m hurting.

Parole was denied for John Lennon’s killer in his eighth appearance before the parole board. An earthquake of 6.0 magnitude struck the northern San Francisco Bay Area.

42 people like this.

A dozen parents and children killed a shark for a selfie.

Aww hun, if I lived on the west coast I’d come visit. Sending lots of love.

A massive fish swallowed a four-foot shark whole off the Florida coast. Kathy Griffin is sick of some middle-aged white guys on late-night TV.

Hun I am so sorry for your great loss! Big Hugs.

A mysterious giant crack splits the ground in northern Mexico. It runs nearly two-thirds of a mile, measures close to thirty feet deep.

So sad I can’t go but you know I love you.

A thirteen-story Gaza building was leveled in an attack after Egypt-mediated ceasefire talks broke down. A British woman vowed to become the first female jihadist to kill an American captive.

I’m so sorry. I’ll stop by in a week or two.

J-Lo says she doesn’t whore around. Obama ordered a review of police militarization. After Michael Brown was shot dead in Ferguson, his body was left on the street for four hours in the summer sun.

I hope you get all the support you deserve!!!

Iggy Azelea fell off the stage at the Pre-VMAs concert plus Nicki Minaj’s VMA dancer was bitten by a snake.

Oh Darling.

Poachers killed an estimated one hundred thousand elephants across Africa between 2010 and 2012.

If you ever need anything please let me know.

Thousands marched peacefully through Staten Island to protest the chokehold death of Eric Garner.

I’m coming over tonight, if that’s OK with you.

James Foley, a missing American photojournalist, was beheaded by ISIS.

I know that this is going to be hard for you and I wish I could be there to help but I can’t.

Kim Kardashian has issued an invitation to see her without makeup.

It’s been years since I’ve seen you and you’re writing for my love and support.

Starting when she turned twenty-nine, Lucy Hilmer has taken a self-portrait on every birthday for forty years wearing nothing but a pair of Vanity Fair underpants, shoes, and socks. She says, “Armed with my camera and tripod, I found a way to define myself on my own terms in the most open, vulnerable way I could.”

There’s nowhere to park where you live.

2 Comments on “The New Empathy”

  1. lilypup says:

    This spoke to me as I deal with issues of mental health. http:lilypupslife.wordpress.com/

  2. kimkairu says:

    This was…is…perfect for what I’m feeling right now. Thank you.


Leave a Reply

